Did you manage to edit system wide connection via nm-applet?

If you couldn’t edit system wide connection or add a connection that is available to all users, hope this article could help you. I’m implementing writing support recently. If you couldn’t edit your system wide connection, my effort will become much meaningless.

Edit System Wide Connection Picture

Recently, I’ve read an article written by Dan Williams. The title is What You Don’t Know About NetworkManager Part 1: Configuration. To my surprise, I find I can’t edit system wide connection and it’s the same problem that article tells. Robert told me it was because my policykit wasn’t correctly set up.

I used to play Fluxbox and didn’t use Gnome a lot. Everything seemed to be fine at that time and I didn’t notice there was something wrong with my policykit (Actually I didn’t use it at that time). Due to that, I can’t edit system wide connection and can’t add new connection that is available to all users.

The reason was simple: /usr/libexec/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1 can’t be run. There was an error message saying that the session can’t be looked up.

I solved this by using "exec ck-launch-session gnome-session" rather than "exec gnome-session". After that, polkit could get the current session information from ConsoleKit.

Hope this could solve your problem. 😛

  1. #1 by David Juhl on July 12, 2010 - 11:47 am

    I run gnome. I’ve used your overlay, and prior to that I followed the info at http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/NetworkManager. I don’t really think nm-applet is doing any of the work. I can still connect to my router, but I think NetworkManager is doing all the work. When I try to use nm-applet, it says the connections have never been last used, and the “connection information” cannot be chosen. I know I have something messed up, but for the life of me can’t tell what. Any insight you have on the matter would be appreciated.

    David

    • #2 by qiaomuf on July 12, 2010 - 2:59 pm

      Hi. It’s OK when nm-applet is saying the connection is “never” used. You can see the picture in the article.

      But if “connection information” cannot be chosen, I don’t think NM is working properly. Info at gentoo-wiki is not for NetworkManager0.8 and above. So please follow the information in my blog if you are using dagger’s overlay. If NM still doesn’t work, please show me your configuration and log. Then let’s see what happened.

  1. Progress of Gentoo NetworkManager Plug-in – Writing support finished « Open is Fun

Leave a Reply

