Recent Updates for Gentoo NM Plug-in

Hi guys,

I made a few updates for the plug-in these days. Actually there is no big change. It’s because all the planned features have been implemented and all the bugs I encountered have been fixed right now. In addition, I haven’t heard of any bug report currently. It may be good news since it suggests that the plug-in is probably stable right now. However, if you find any problem with this plug-in, please do not hesitate to let me know. I would appreciate if you could give me some feedback.

Anyway, here is the list of updates:

  • fixed a bug in WEP key handling
  • support dhcp hostname
  • support dhcp client id
  • support specifying dhcp client type in nm-system-settings.conf

PS: You have to change your dhcp hostname and client id via dhcpcd/dhclient configuration file. Writing these values back via GUI is not supported currently.

Reiterating, your feedback is very important to me. I really hope to make this project better :-).

,

  1. #1 by barton on June 12, 2010 - 10:51 am

    Hi thanks for writing of the scripts. It works like a charm. The only problem I encountered with it was during my initial setup. My router was found, but it would not connect to it until I deselected automatically connect.

    • #2 by qiaomuf on June 12, 2010 - 1:25 pm

      Hi, really thank you for your feedback.
      All the connections won’t automatically connect unless its auto_* is set to “true” (in /etc/conf.d/net). You can also set it via nm-applet.
      But your problem is strange. If you deselected automatically connect, I don’t think nm will connect to network via this connection. So could you please give me more information if I didn’t misunderstand your problem?

      • #3 by barton on June 13, 2010 - 8:03 am

        Is my /etc/conf.d/net suppose to be updated or do I manually configure it. Presently I do not have any configuration settings in it. Steps to reproduce my issue. I installed networkmanager from the dagger overlay. Then I started NetworkManager, opened knetworkmanager. My router was found, I entered my passkey, selected connect automatically, then ok. I was prompted for my password again and after which nothing happened it did not connect to my router. I tried again still nothing. Only when I deselected connect automatically did it connect to my router.

        • #4 by qiaomuf on June 13, 2010 - 9:07 am

          I think I know your problem. You don’t have to edit /etc/conf.d/net manually, but it should have some content.
          I think currently you may be using keyfile plug-in rather than gentoo nm plug-in, so there’s nothing generated in /etc/conf.d/net.
          To use gentoo nm plug-in, you have to select “available to all users” when you create any connection. Then your connection setting will be written into /etc/conf.d/net. If you still have problem after doing that, please let me know your wireless security method, I will figure this out. Here is an instruction on how to make system wide connection.

  2. #5 by barton on June 13, 2010 - 4:27 pm

    I’m not using gnome-extra/nm-applet. Instead I am using kde-misc/knetworkmanager. I running mainly kde apps.

  3. #6 by barton on June 13, 2010 - 4:28 pm

    I’m not using gnome-extra/nm-applet. Instead I am using kde-misc/knetworkmanager. I running mainly kde apps. So I don’t have that option to able system wide settings. If I do, I do not know where to find it.

    • #7 by qiaomuf on June 20, 2010 - 11:55 am

      Hi, sorry for the delay. I didn’t use knetworkmanager so I tried to install a new KDE environment and see your problem. I find there is check box called “System connection” when you add network connection via knetworkmanager. Please try it and see if any thing generated in /etc/conf.d/net.

      • #8 by Barton on June 21, 2010 - 11:45 pm

        There is a box there that says system connection in knetworkmanager but it is grayed out. I have been doing some research on it. That feature has not been implemented in the knetworkmanager. So the problem is kde network manager. I did some hacking on the gnome nm-applet so it did not install all of gnome dependencies. The program works fine and it updated my /etc/conf.d/net and ../wpa_supplicant.conf as well. Thanks again.

  4. #9 by Pavel on June 21, 2010 - 8:23 am

    Finally made it and installed nm on my laptop! At first I forgot to enable the ifnet plugin in /etc/NetworkManager/nm-system-settings.conf and wondered why nm keeps managing my eth0 when I didn’t want it to, but once I figured out, everything runs pretty fine except for ntp-client.

    ATM I have ntp-client and networkmanager in the default boot level. ntp-client fails to start at boot. While I didnt dig for details, I’m pretty sure that this is because of NM and its async starting of the network. So ntp-client kicks in before network is really up. Is there anything that can be done about it?

    I didn’t use NM for a very long time. I wonder, do you happen to know how NM handles packets when two interfaces (i.e. wlan0 and eth0) are up at the same time? Does it do some kind of bonding and use both interfaces at the same time?

    BTW, I tested also if miredo still works. It does 🙂
    Thats about it. Thanks for your work. If you need to test anything, feel free ask.

    • #10 by qiaomuf on June 21, 2010 - 9:20 am

      ATM I have ntp-client and networkmanager in the default boot level. ntp-client fails to start at boot. While I didnt dig for details, I’m pretty sure that this is because of NM and its async starting of the network. So ntp-client kicks in before network is really up. Is there anything that can be done about it?

      Well, current version of our project doesn’t contain the modified version of init script. That new init script for NM will “provide net” so that any other script which depends on net won’t start before NM is initialized. If you need it now, you can just modify the script by yourself. It’s quite easy :-).

      I didn’t use NM for a very long time. I wonder, do you happen to know how NM handles packets when two interfaces (i.e. wlan0 and eth0) are up at the same time? Does it do some kind of bonding and use both interfaces at the same time?

      I’m not quite sure but there is a default interface when more than two interfaces are up at the same time. You can check it by right-click nm-applet and click connection information. Currently I just let NM choose which one is the default but it can be controlled. I haven’t implemented it since I don’t want to add too much new options in /etc/conf.d/net. If I find it’s should be controlled by configuration file, I will implement it.

      Thank you for your support :-). If you’ve tested wireless network, could you please tell me your wireless security method and whether it works?

      • #11 by Pavel on June 21, 2010 - 7:47 pm

        Hi 🙂

        thanks for the answers. I now remember some other post of yours where you mentioned that the init scripts are to be edited yet… sorry about that! Sofar only WEP is tested and works fine. Once I get to my office, I’ll try wpa-eap/tkip which has been newly implemented there. I wonder how it will behave – i didn’t succeed setting it up with wpa_supplicant but i didn’t try very hard (ironically, my n900 connected without problems). Anyways, I’ll keep you informed!

        • #12 by qiaomuf on June 21, 2010 - 10:43 pm

          Great, the plug-in will help you write necessary settings to /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf when you create wireless connection via nm-applet. It will save your effort.

  5. #13 by veiptopiedift on June 24, 2010 - 8:18 pm

    Very Good site, thank yo mister, it’s help’s me!

  6. #14 by Mark Elkins on December 3, 2012 - 6:40 pm

    Date: 3/12/2012
    Network manager 0.9.4.0 on Gentoo, all works well – except as ‘dhcpcd’ is called with…
    “-c /usr/libexec/nm-dhcp-client.action”, I no longer run my custom dhcpcd hook. How can I run a custom script when DHCP comes back with addresses, I wish to be able to do a (secure) DNS update to update my laptop name to the current v4 (&v6) addresses, previously done by executing a custom ‘hook’ file.

Leave a Reply

