Gentoo NetworkManager plug-in improvement and next plan

Recently, I’ve received some great advice from several enthusiastic users. I want to say thank you!

I’ve made a few commit since the last version 0.8-r102:

  • Fixed a bug when dealing with default wep key
  • support both dhcpcd and dhclient configuration file
  • support reading dhcp clientid and hostname
  • fixed a bug when dealing with global setting
  • Improved hex and ASCII key differentiating

Several people are confused with baselayout/openrc init scripts when using NetworkManager. It doesn’t matter. I will write another article to explain their relationship and how to make them work together. Actually there’s already one article talking about openrc scirpts.

Now I’d like to let you know my next plan.

Because Gentoo is moving to /etc/conf.d/network, I will try to make the plug-in compatible with it. When the migration is completed, I hope this plug-in will work properly without further modification.

Redhat, Suse and Ubuntu have already pushed their plug-in to upstream NetworkManager. I hope we could do the same thing. I will contact Dan when our plug-in is stable enough. Certainly there may be several good advice from him.

,

  1. #1 by nickless on June 22, 2010 - 4:53 pm

    This is gonna be awesome! πŸ™‚

    • #2 by qiaomuf on June 23, 2010 - 9:10 am

      πŸ™‚ Hope you like it

  2. #3 by Jim on June 22, 2010 - 10:23 pm

    Perhaps you could / should write an article on gentoo-wiki.com that explains what you have done and how to start using it on a;
    1./ Standard Gentoo system
    2./ System already using nm

    • #4 by qiaomuf on June 23, 2010 - 9:13 am

      Great idea. I’m sure there will be an article talking about NM 0.8 and the plug-in when NM 0.8 is marked stable.

  3. #5 by Steve` on June 22, 2010 - 11:22 pm

    Hi,
    once again another great thanks for you hard work on networkmanager & co. I just totally switched from wicd to networkmanager and knetworkmanager. It’s great to have a working lan/wlan-applet on KDE4.

    Just waiting for a working broadband-connection … πŸ™‚

    • #6 by qiaomuf on June 23, 2010 - 9:16 am

      Glad to see you like it. If you encounter any problem, please feel free to ask πŸ™‚

    • #7 by Steve` on June 28, 2010 - 6:00 pm

      Get it working with broadband-connection now.

      Very impressive. Many thanks for all your hard work.

  4. #8 by Pavel on June 23, 2010 - 8:15 pm

    Hi again,

    am just testing eap/peap+mschapv2 and sofar I’m unable to connect. I tried to look for some logs from NM but didnt find any. Do you happen to know where nm logs to?

    thanks, Pavel

    • #9 by qiaomuf on June 23, 2010 - 8:44 pm

      Hi,
      All the logs go to /var/log/message on my machine. It should contain many useful information including why the connection failed to establish. So please look at your /var/log folder and see what happened.

  5. #10 by Pavel on June 24, 2010 - 11:51 pm

    I figured out that I was misinformed about the network configuration. In the end I managed to connect, so I can verify that WPA& WPA2 Enterprise with LEAP authentication works fine. Thanks πŸ˜‰

    • #11 by qiaomuf on June 25, 2010 - 9:47 am

      Well, great. I have no way to test LEAP and thank you for doing that for me. Good to see it works πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

