Why gentoo cvs server is so hard to connect?

I takes me a few minutes to run a simple command ‘cvs add’ :(. Is that because I’m in China?

I’ve already tried

ssh -M -N -f user@cvs.gentoo.org

Does anyone have any advice to speed up access?

BTW, wordpress’s quick post is just a way to write draft?

Oh my god, I’m still waiting for cvs add……

  1. #1 by Betelgeuse on February 26, 2011 - 4:43 pm

    If you have ipv6 configured check out that your route is not lousy. For me the ipv6 route was three times slower than the ipv4 one.

    • #2 by qiaomuf on February 26, 2011 - 10:16 pm

      Ah, I guess this may be the reason. I find that my ipv6 route is a mess.

  2. #3 by Pavel on February 26, 2011 - 9:14 pm

    Might be also that you dont have enough entropy which you need for speedy ssh access. Try adding some with sys-apps/timer_entropyd if thats the case.

    • #4 by qiaomuf on February 26, 2011 - 10:19 pm

      Thanks for answering. The speed is good when I access other machines. Is entropy so important?

      • #5 by Pavel on February 26, 2011 - 10:26 pm

        well if your connection to other machines is fine then i’m not so sure. but entropy does make a lot of difference – can be up to 20x speed increase in ssh/scp transfers.

  3. #6 by Stuart Longland on February 27, 2011 - 7:18 pm

    Hmm, git can’t replace CVS soon enough, good to know I’m not the only one who finds themselves doing a `cvs up -dP` then wandering off to amuse themselves with something else for five minutes.

    For me, the initial connect takes a while, but then the cvs update takes ages.

Leave a Reply

