Home page and updated benchmark for libbash

I’ve created a simple home page for libbash. From there you can see the general design of libbash, Q&A and the detailed plan. Most of the content comes from my GSoC application. I’ll blog our latest progress here and update the home page during the summer.

The benchmark mentioned in my previous post(Introduction to libbash) is updated to be more convincing. Thanks to nirbheek and Ford_Prefect for telling me about the kernel cache. Thanks to ferringb for telling me to add a test for pmaint (The fastest metadata generation tool for now based on the test result). I also added more information about the testing environment including the CXXFLAGS I used to compile Paludis and libbash. This time I removed -D_GLIBCXX_DEBUG (libstdc++ debug mode) and the speed of our implementation is doubled.

For people who are interested in this project, we’ll have a demo on IRC channel #gentoo-libbash at 2011-05-16 06:00 UTC. Please feel free to join.

  1. #1 by Donnie Berkholz on May 23, 2011 - 9:32 pm

    Could you please move it to a proper webpage (i.e., not in your personal webspace but instead a Gentoo project page or Trac wiki), in the next few weeks?

    • #2 by qiaomuf on May 24, 2011 - 2:40 pm

      No problem. We will add a story for creating a new ProjectXML.

Leave a Reply

